REC603

REC603

REC603 – Phase III Stage HPV 9-Valent Vaccine

REC603, our Core Product, is designed to provide protection against HPV types 6, 11, 16, 18, 31, 33, 45, 52 and 58. It is expected that REC603 will be one of the first of domestic vaccines of its kind to be approved and commercialized in China.

Summary of Clinical Trial: We jointly applied, and obtained the umbrella IND approval for REC603 in July 2018. The umbrella IND approval covers all three phases (phase I, II and III) of clinical trials. In March 2019, we commenced the phase I clinical trial of REC603 in China. We completed phase I clinical trial of REC603 in China in July 2020. Based on communications with the CDE of the NMPA, the NMPA has no objection for us to proceed with phase III clinical trial in China directly. Accordingly, we did not conduct any phase II clinical trial for REC603.

We are in the process of conducting phase III clinical trial in China. The phase III clinical trial in China consists of three parts, i.e. the primary efficacy trial, the immuno-bridging trial in younger-age groups, and the immunogenicity comparative trial with Gardasil® 9, with a multi-center, randomized, blinded and parallel controlled design and with a total size of 16,050 subjects. The Company has completed the subject enrollment and first dose vaccination of the two studies of REC603 immuno-bridging trial in younger-age groups and the immunogenicity comparative trial with Gardasil® 9 in August 2022. At the same time, follow-up on the subjects of REC603’s primary efficacy trial is being conducted in accordance with the clinical protocol. We plan to submit BLA application to the NMPA for REC603 in 2025. Since obtaining the IND approval in China, no material unexpected or adverse changes in relation to REC603 have occurred.

 

Advantages of REC603

  • Positive immunogenicity profile

 REC603 demonstrates a positive immunogenicity profile in its phase I clinical trial. In general, we observed a significant increase in terms of NAb GMT level against all of the target HPV types.

  • High-yield and stable production of HPV VLPs

REC603 adopts H. polymorpha expression system. In general, the VLPs expressed from different expression systems are all highly similar to natural HPV capsid in structure and epitope in order to trigger immune response after vaccination, including those being produced by H. polymorpha expression system. H. polymorpha, a methylotrophic yeast species, is able to grow to very high cell density rapidly on simple media and has relatively high optimum growth temperature. Owing to its strong and tunable promoters derived from the methanol utilization pathway, high secretion capacity, and lower hyperglycosylation activity compared to S. cerevisiae, H. polymorpha is suitable for production of recombinant proteins for medical use. With high copies of expression cassettes integrated stably in the genome of H. polymorpha, high-yield and stable expression of HPV VLPs is achieved, making our vaccine candidate more suitable for commercial production.

  • Favorable safety profile

REC603 was safe and well-tolerated as shown in the phase I clinical trial for REC603. There were no statistical differences in terms of incidences of AEs between the vaccine group and the placebo group. Although there is currently no available paper reporting a head-to-head clinical trial comparing domestic HPV vaccines and foreign HPV vaccines, in the clinical trial conducted by Merck Sharp & Dohme for Gardasil 9 in 2009, the rate of adverse event was 86.6% among subjects enrolled in the vaccine cohort, as compared to 53.75% as observed in the phase I clinical trial of REC603. 1The main adverse reactions were expected fever and inject site pain, mostly were transient and mild.

  • Scalable manufacturing potential

Our patented technology in HPV VLPs in combination with optimized fermentation strategy and purification process enable us to achieve high and stable yield in bulk production. With well-defined critical process parameters, manufacturing of REC603 can be easily scaled-up to meet the market demand domestically and globally.

 

Opportunities and potentials

  • Superiority of HPV 9-valent vaccines

In general, HPV 9-valent vaccines can provide protection against 90% of cervical cancer and 90% of the anal and genital warts and therefore are the most recommended vaccines for HPV protection. However, to the best knowledge and information of the Company with reference to independent market research, currently there is only one HPV 9-valent vaccine approved in China, and it is expected HPV 9-valent vaccines will account for a larger market share in China after more HPV 9-valent vaccines are approved in China.

  • Significantly underserved HPV 9-valent market in China

To the best knowledge and information of the Company with reference to independent market research, even taking into account of the expected growth in vaccination rate of HPV vaccines, there will be 233.9 million females aged 9 to 45 unvaccinated for HPV in 2025, representing a potentially total of 701.7 million doses needed. In addition, the types of HPV serotypes that can infect women can also infect men. Studies have also shown that, males also have similar rates of HPV infection as females. As such, we believe China’s HPV vaccine market is, and will continue to be significantly underserved.

  • Domestic Substitute

To the best knowledge and information of the Company with reference to independent market research, the first domestic bivalent HPV vaccine accounted for 66.7% within the bivalent section of China’s HPV market in terms of production value in the first year of its launch by virtue of its cost effectiveness, even if it was only approved in 2019 whereas the first imported bivalent HPV vaccine was approved in China in 2016. We believe that considering domestic vaccine products tend to adopt more favorable prices as compared to their global peers, HPV 9-valent vaccines will follow a similar trend in China after being approved. In recent years, the Chinese government has also promulgated policies in favor of domestic HPV vaccine developers. For example, in 2019, the National Health Commission of the People’s Republic of China released the “Healthy China Action–Cancer Prevention and Control Implementation Plan (2019-2022)”, stating to accelerate the review and approval process of domestic HPV vaccines and improve the accessibility of HPV vaccines. As one of the few domestic vaccine companies to have phase III stage HPV 9-valent vaccine candidate, we believe we will benefit from such favorable government policies in the future.

  • Broader age application

To the best knowledge and information of the Company, HPV 9-valent vaccine available in the market in China was only approved for females aged between 16 to 26 years. Our Core Product, REC603, has also initiated phase III clinical trial for females aged 9 to 45 years in 2021, indicating a potential broader coverage in terms of age as compared to the current approved vaccines.

  • Next-generation HPV vaccines under development

We are also developing next generation quadrivalent and 9-valent HPV vaccine candidates with novel adjuvants, which are designed to adopt a two-shot regimen without compromising the efficacy/safety profile of vaccine candidates, and are potentially superior as compared to the commercialized products as they are all adopting three-shot regimen.

Having considered the Company’s accumulation of phase III clinical trial sample size domestically in China and its decision to conduct the trial at clinical sites with higher HPV infection rate, it is expected that REC603 will be one of the first domestic vaccines of its kind to be approved and commercialized in China.

REC603

REC603

REC603-III期HPV九价疫苗

REC603是公司的核心产品,旨在提供针对HPV6型、11型、16型、18型、31型、33型、45型、52型及58型的保护。预期REC603将成为国内首批获批及商业化的国产疫苗之一。

临床试验概述:公司于2018年7月联合申请并取得REC603的伞式IND批准。伞式IND批准涵盖临床试验的所有三个阶段(即I期、II期及III期)。于2019年3月,公司开始于中国进行REC603的I期临床试验。于2020年7月在中国完成REC603的I期临床试验。目前正在中国进行III期临床试验。该中国III期临床试验由主效力试验、小年龄组免疫桥接试验、与Gardasil®9免疫原性比较试验三部分组成,采用多中心、随机、盲态、平行对照设计,受试者总样本量为16,050例。公司已于2022年8月完成REC603的小年龄组免疫桥接、及与Gardasil®9免疫原性比较两项研究的全部受试者入组和首剂接种工作。同时,REC603主效力试验的受试者正在按照临床方案开展随访工作。计划于2025年向国家药监局提交REC603的BLA申请。

 

REC603产品优势

  • 积极的免疫原性

REC603在其I期临床试验中显示了积极的免疫原性。总体而言,观察到针对所有目标HPV类型的NAb GMT水平有显著增加。

  • 高产、稳产的HPV病毒样颗粒

REC603采用汉逊酵母表达系统。一般来说,来自不同表达系统的病毒样颗粒在结构及表位上与天然HPV壳衣均高度类似,以在接种疫苗后触发免疫应答(包括汉逊酵母表达系统所产生的免疫应答)。汉逊酵母是一种甲基营养型酵母菌,能在简单培养基上快速生长至非常高的细胞密度,并可耐受相对较高的生长温度。与酿酒酵母相比,汉逊酵母的甲醇利用途径启动子强劲且可调、分泌量高、糖基化水平低等特性适合医用重组蛋白的生产。将高拷贝表达盒整合到稳定的汉逊酵母基因组中,实现了HPV病毒样颗粒的高产及稳定表达,使我们的候选疫苗更适合商业化生产。

  • 良好的安全性

REC603的I期临床试验所示,REC603安全且耐受良好。疫苗组与安慰剂组之间的不良事件发生率并无统计学差异。尽管目前并无可获得的公开文件报告透过对比国产HPV疫苗及国外HPV疫苗所进行的头对头临床试验,但于2009年,MerckSharp&Dohme进行的Gardasil9临床试验中,疫苗队列所招募受试者的副作用发生率为86.6%,而在REC603的I期临床试验所观察数据为53.75%。1主要不良反应为预期发热及注射部位疼痛,且多为暂时性的轻度症状。

  • 可扩展的生产潜力

公司在HPV病毒样颗粒方面的专利技术结合优化的发酵策略及纯化工艺,能够在批量生产中实现稳定的高产量。凭借明确的关键工艺参数,REC603可轻松扩展生产规模,以满足国内及全球市场的需求。

 

机会及潜力

  • HPV九价疫苗的优越性

一般来说,HPV九价疫苗可以对90%的宫颈癌及90%的肛门及生殖器疣提供保护,因此是最值得推荐的HPV保护疫苗。目前中国仅批准了一款HPV九价疫苗,而于更多HPV九价疫苗在中国获批准后,预期将占据更大的中国市场份额。

  • 中国HPV九价疫苗市场供应严重不足

研究数据显示,于2025年将仍有233.9百万名9至45岁的女性未接种HPV疫苗,意味着合共有701.7百万支的潜在需求量。此外,可感染女性的HPV血清型亦可感染男性。研究亦显示,男性HPV感染率与女性相近。因此,我们认为中国的HPV疫苗市场供应一直并将继续严重不足。

  • 国产替代

尽管首款进口HPV二价疫苗已于2016年在中国获批准,而首款国产HPV二价疫苗于2019年方获批准,但其凭借成本效益在上市第一年的产值就占据66.7%的中国HPV二价疫苗市场。考虑到国产疫苗产品倾向于追求与全球同行相比更有利的价格,中国的HPV九价疫苗在获批准后将跟随类似趋势。近年来,中国政府已颁布政策,支持国产HPV疫苗厂商。例如,于2019年,中华人民共和国国家健康卫生委员会发布了《健康中国行动-癌症防治实施方案(2019-2022年)》,宣布加快国产HPV疫苗的审批流程及提高HPV疫苗的普及程度。作为国内少数几家拥有处于III期阶段的HPV九价候选疫苗的公司,日后将受惠于该等有利的政府政策。

  • 广泛的年龄适用性

中国市场上现有HPV九价疫苗仅被批准用于16至26岁的女性。于2021年,核心产品REC603亦已开始III期临床试验,适用于9至45岁的女性,表明在年龄方面较当前获批准疫苗可能有更广泛的适用范围。

  • 正在开发的下一代HPV疫苗

公司还在开发伴新型佐剂的下一代HPV四价及九价候选疫苗,其设计采用两针方案,且并无损害候选疫苗效果╱安全特性,与目前商业化的产品相比有潜在的优势,乃由于彼等均采用三针方案。

考虑到本公司于中国国内累积的III期临床试验样本量,以及在HPV感染率较高的临床地点进行试验的决定,预期REC603将成为国内首批获批及商业化的国产疫苗之一。